Sunday, November 5, 2023

Noble Truth and the Path to Enlightenment.

The first noble truth is that suffering exists.  The second noble truth is that suffering is caused by craving and attachment.  The third noble truth is that suffering can be ended. And the fourth noble truth is the Eightfold Path which is a set of principles and practices to follow that will bring an end to suffering. 

The Eightfold Path is: the road to Nirvana which is realized when all suffering suddenly releases it's grasp on the aspirant and send them into Bliss.  The first are, "Right Views"  which is not the views of another pressing upon the seeker, but rather the views of the individual on themselves. Second is, "Right Intention" a way of Being here now, and understanding it. Third, "Right Speech"  Speak Truth. Fourth is, "Right Action."  Doing the things that should be done at the right time. Fifth is, "Right Livelihood."  This one causes arguments, but letting go of judgement is pinnacle,  That is living a life fully and in service to the self and the all. Sixth is, "Right Effort." Doing the things that must get done without harming anything or anyone. Seventh, "Mindfulness"  Being aware of who you are, where you are, and why you are there. Eighth goes hand in hand with Mindfulness it is, "Concentration."  Focus is the ability to "See" what the viewer is looking at completely.  

The Eightfold path has many practices and methods to gain access to each of these abilities.  Some achieve them through their own volition, other's with the help of a teacher or guru, yet a very few have it thrust upon them and open their eyes to the light and a world of no suffering.  

You the reader are the universe grab ahold of this thought and let go.  Then you will understand the first hunger of the Buddha.  

Peace and Balance,


No comments:

Post a Comment